happy black cats

happy black cats front

Let’s start with the base for this card.  I really was inspired by the paper I had found offered at my local craft stores.  I loved the colors and thought that black would be the perfect background.  So to make things simple, I started with my shape, I knew I wanted something that would fit in a 5 1/2 x 5 1/2 envelope.  Now just a reminder, if you plan on sending this shape through your post office check with them to see if there is any special postage or handling that you may need to consider.  I plan on mailing a few, but also hand delivering some as well. I like to work with my Cricut Expression 2 to cut card stock. With the Cricut Art Cartridge “Paper Lace” , I found the perfect shape for those envelopes.  Check out page 32 in the design booklet to view the Base Shadow of this design.  I chose to have Real Dial Size on and set the size to 5.00.  The OCD in me likes to make patterns before I cut my paper and I will go into how I came to pick this size in an upcoming blog post.  So, stay tuned for more details on pattern making.  “Black Cat” 12 x 12 smooth texture Premium Cardstock by Core’dinations, is the perfect “black” paper for Halloween.  Just like black clothing, not all black mediums are the same.  Making patterns once again came into use to help me choose the size of the smaller paper cut outs on this design.  With my smaller pattern, I initially cut them square and then used the Martha Stewart Crafts Corner Punch, Rounder to soften the edges.  Since this is the very first card I’m blogging about, I don’t want to bore you with all the details and I hope you’ll be back for more. So, I’m going to include a list of all the products I used and their links. As this is all new to me, I thought I would pick out a detail or two of every piece I share and blog about that. Creativity doesn’t have to be exact, it just needs to inspire. I hope that this serves as an inspiration to breathe, create and relax.    mj

happy black cats back

 

product list

Leave a Reply

