trick or treat buttons

Front design of card.

When I first discovered card making I searched endlessly on Pinterest for ideas, and also to find out what styles I liked.  Anyone who knows me will tell you I’m not really a bows and frills kind of gal, but buttons started to intrigue me.  For years I have been saving buttons in a “button tin”, everyone has one, right? Now the buttons on this card did not come from the “button tin” but they caught my eye at the store.  Working with buttons on this card made me realize that the “button tin” may finally come in handy.  Also, when I think of buttons they take me back to my childhood.  I don’t remember what they were called but there were these dolls, I believe from Playskool, that had zippers and buttons on them.  They were to help children learn how to zip, button and tie their clothes.  These bright orange buttons reminded me of that, and along with watching a demo from Tim Holtz on his Stampers Anonymous Halftone Halloween stamp release, I couldn’t help but be inspired to create something with a child in mind.  I found that by using the 1/2 x 1/2 Therm-O-Web 3 D Foam Squares to “bump up” the buttons, it made it much easier to secure the Tim Holtz idea-ology Paper String in place.  And like Tim mentioned in his video, any of the Halloween Halftone images are great to add to a card for a child.  The outline of the image is done in Ranger’s Archival Ink which is a waterproof ink, and the halftone is done with Tim Holtz Distress Inks which are activated by water.  The halftone which is made up of tiny dots can then be activated with water and a paint brush.  It’s a great way to send a special message to a little ghost or goblin that encourages their creativity.  mj                                                                                                           Trick or Treat Buttons Back

 

 

product list

 

Leave a Reply

