patterns

Ok, I mentioned to you in my October 25 post that I like to make patterns. Well, I think it’s time to expand on that.  Card making is still very new to me, and like many I think one of the joys of the art is the paper itself.  Now with my first venture into creating I was really nervous about using up all my paper on mistakes.  I first started out buying the single sheets of paper.  I would buy two or three of each one I liked in case I made a mistake, but I still felt the stress of “what if I mess up”.   Early on I thought to myself, “self you need to make a pattern first” and that’s when it all started.  Graph paper is the best because with the lines you are almost always guaranteed a straight line and it makes measuring much easier.  This was also the time that I had just gotten my Cricut Expression 2 and had no idea what I was doing.  I needed to be able to figure out what size my cut out needed to be to fit the card I was going to put it on.  By using graph paper you can create a pattern or template so that you can see how the size is going to work with the cards, embossing folders and any other mediums you think you may use.  Most graph paper comes in 8 1/2 x 11 perforated pads.  For my Halloween cards I had envelopes that were 5 1/2 x 5 1/2 and I knew a pattern would be the best way for me to figure out what size my card stock needed to be.  The one thing to remember is you need to have enough room for your card to slide smoothly in and out of the envelope and also keep in mind what parts of your design may fall outside of the shape of the card.  I haven’t checked yet, but I think I have a few Halloween cards that may be a tight squeeze.  My pattern for my base ended up being about 5 1/4 x 5 1/4.  As I started working with other colors of paper and layering, I added a few more patterns to the mix.  These patterns will be saved so that I will have them to reference going forward. mj

Make patterns to help determine your dimensions and then save for later projects.

Make patterns to help determine your dimensions and then save for later projects.

Leave a Reply

