jointed skelly

Hand Made CardThis card was inspired by one of my favorite Halloween decorations growing up as a kid,  my mom had one of those cardboard skeletons with the jointed arms and legs that she hung on the front door.  At first when I was young I wasn’t to sure about it, but it stayed with the family until parts of it where falling off, by then I had become rather fond of it.  So with that decoration in mind, I created the “jointed skelly” card.  With the  Stampers Anonymous Tim Holtz Retro Halloween CMS092 skeleton stamp and Ranger Archival Ink in Jet Black, I stamped my image on Strathmore Bristol paper.  After drying the ink with my Ranger Heat it Craft Tool, I first used my Distress Marker in Brushed Corduroy, with the fine tip, to color in some detail.  When I went to use my Ranger Waterbrush (Fine Detail Nib Tip 33080), I forgot to clean it off,  what resulted was a blaze of orange on the skull.  I didn’t panic, I actually liked the effect.  So I reached for my Ranger Heat it Craft Tool and quickly dried it so that I could re-ink my image with additional orange detail using Distress Marker in Spiced Marmalade, (fine tip).  Once I had added enough detail I softened the color with my water brush and finished by drying with the craft tool.  To recreate that decoration from long ago, I fussy cut the image with Tim Holtz by Tonic Studios Kushgrip Snips, paying attention to place some strategic cuts at joints for added brads to create movement.

One other tip I quickly want to share, is saving those scraps. As you can see in the below image, I only used left over scraps to fill in where I had punched the cut out using the EK Success Punch Tool.  mj

Hand Made Card

Punch Out Detail. Don’t waste those scraps!

products used

Hand Made Card

I created movement with the back view of the card by again placing strategic cuts on the skeletons joints but glued them in different positions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

