shimmer snowman

Sorry everyone for the missed post on Monday.  Like I said, I didn’t have much time to work on cards over the weekend but I did manage to continue with my shimmer snowman.

Since Halloween was my first introduction at doing numerous cards with the same theme, I want to admit that I did go a little overboard on buying embellishments.  But really, can we ever have enough? They will come in handy next year I am sure.  Anyway, starting out with Christmas I decided to slim down on the amount of embellishments I purchase and focus on creating my own.  I also think the stores have yet to get their entire holiday stock in, so the pickings really haven’t caught my eye.


EmbellishmentsUsing Cricut Art Cartridge, Winter Woodland, I first cut my snowflakes out of traditional white scrapbook paper.  Next came adding some bling.  From my past in makeup, I had some left over goodies that will be put to use with card making and these gemstones are just that.  I used Ranger’s Glossy Accents to adhere clear and teal gemstones to the snowflakes.  Another way I created snowflakes was using my Martha Stewarts Crafts, Deep Double Edge Snowflake Punch.  I punched the design into Recollections Cool Water Cardstick Paper (teal color) and then carefully snipped the snowflakes apart from the paper.  To bring more emphasis to the “snow” theme of the card I added a snowflake brad to correspond with the boarder paper that I used.

Now this card is not finished yet.  I’m not loving the embossed “let it snow”.  Don’t get shimmer snowmanme wrong, I love the emboss itself, just not what I did with it.  The one thing that I find really helpful is taking photographs of my work.  By having a photograph handy, I can take a peak at it when I am away from the creative process and view it when I am in a different mind set.  It is at this time that elements will stand out.  Some times those elements are what make you love what you did and at times it makes you stop and say “nope, not finished yet”.  This is where I am now.  All I need is to breathe create relax and it will come to me.  How do you edit your work? Comment bellow.  I’d love to hear
from you.  mj

products used 

 

 

Leave a Reply

