using what you learn

A few entries ago I mentioned that I turned to my copy of A Compendium of Curiosities, Vol 1, by Tim Holtz to learn another technique.  I played around with Blended Batik and want to show you what I came up with.  What I  love about this is that it is a wonderful technique that allows you to use stamps that you may already have to create custom backgrounds or even your own paper stock.  I liked this technique so much that I used it again on another card that I will be sharing with you soon.

Batik Santa

I couldn’t possibly use this stamp without making the reindeer Rudolph.  I had to color the nose in red, so I decided to use Distress Markers in Barn Door, Vintage Photo and Black Soot to color in my stamp instead of stamping all in one color. Once complete, I fussy cut the stamped image so that I could manipulate the image within the “25” die cut.  By adding Tim Holtz Idea-ology Tinsel Twine in silver it helps create more movement and interest. Enjoy! mj

Who cares how messy you get.

Who cares how messy you get

         products used

 

Leave a Reply

