red nose reindeer

red nose reindeer

Here I am with another card to share.  I really like the Blended Batik technique from Tim Holtz Compendium of Curiosities Vol 1,  so I decided to visit it again.  It is inspiring to learn a new technique, and while in the process of learning said technique, it nurtures other ideas and projects.  For this card I started off with Strathmore Bristol 300 Series paper, stamped my back ground image using the Stampendous Music Score Wood Mount Stamp and Ranger Big Emboss It Pad Clear.  I used Ranger Distress Inks in Old Paper and Vintage Photo to antique the edges.  Now I am not going to tell you the details of the technique, you need to check out the book for that, but while learning it I was inspired to try additional techniques on top of it.  I used the Stampers Anonymous Layering Stencil Holly Bough to add additional holiday detail to the background.  Ranger Distress Inks in Barn Door, Festive Berries and Evergreen Bough were used to define the holly and berries of the stencil.  While working with this technique I kept the lower left hand corner free of any ink because I knew I wanted to use that area for a simple technique consisting of fewer steps.  I loved the rustic feel of this card and since I decided I was making all my cards able to hang, it was only logical that simple twine would be used for this card.

I hope you all are finding time to be creative?  This is a busy time of year and it is very easy to get caught up in all the things that “need” to be done.  But don’t forget to take a moment to do something for yourself.  I struggle with this every day and I want you to know you are not alone.  Even if it is only for 30 minutes, take the time.  Let’s help each other breathe create relax.  mj

products used

I would love to hear from you.  Leave me a message and I’ll respond.

 

Leave a Reply

