final word for 2014

I hope everyone has had a joyous holiday season and looking forward to what 2015 will bring.  I have actually started this post several times and was at a loss for words.  I have had good intentions this Christmas, but it was also a very busy few months.  My only regret was that I couldn’t do more.  Time seemed to go by so fast, but what moments I did grab a hold of I enjoyed being creative and sharing with you.  Blogging is new to me, only a few months old.  I am really excited to plan my blog for 2015.  I have been making observations along the way and hope to get into more of a routine that will allow me to share posts on a regular basis.  I do know that I have some other projects coming up besides cards that I intend to share with you.  My husband and I recently built our house and my current creative space is unfinished.  We plan on completing the room ourselves so stay tuned for more details on that.  I also have been organizing and sorting through photos. After a busy day I don’t always feel like sitting down to make a card, so I have searched out some other form of creativity that I can do while relaxing on the couch.  Enter Project Life! I am going to scale down those old photos and create photo albums using Project Life products.  To end 2014 I would like to share some of my other Christmas cards and to keep it short, a brief highlight of some of the products used.  If there is something specific you would like to know about a card leave a reply or send me a message.  Here is to learning and creating more in 2015 and taking the time to breathe create relax. Cheers! mj

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Cricut’s Trim the Tree Cartridge gives you beautiful intricate cuts that can be paired with a simple card design. I used paper from Pebbles Home For Christmas Paper Pad and holiday sentiment from K & Company Adhesive Chipboard design by Brenda Walton. Finally, add some gem stones for extra sparkle and family will think you spent hours on this design.

Postage Stamp Inspired

Postage Stamp Inspired

Using Cricut Sentimentals Cartridge, I created this oversized postage stamp featuring Tim Holtz Alterations Texture Fade in Pine Branch, paper from Jolee’s Boutique Holiday Paper Pad and All Night Media’s Dasher Wood Mount Stamp. (no direct link available for stamp)

Simple, yet festive.

Simple, yet festive.

Here is another easy design. To accent paper form The Paper Studio All Seasons Three 12 x 12 paper pad I used the reindeer die cut from Cricut’s Winter Woodland Cartridge and embossed the shadow with Tim Holtz Alterations Texture Fade in Holiday Knits. I also found these clear plastic holiday stickers from Cloud 9 Design to add my Christmas sentiment. (no link available for Christmas sentiment)

Jolly Ole Sant Nicholas

Jolly Ole Sant Nicholas

This one just makes me smile.  Using the Santa stamp from Stampers Anonymous Tim Holtz Halftone Christmas I first created my main image. Add Santa’s shadow image from Cricut’s Trim the Tree Cartridge and you have a playful childlike card to share with a family.

Peace

Peace

When I think of peace I think of calming soft colors, such as the colors found in DCWV’s Linen Closet 12 x 12 Paper Pad.  I created a vintage paper background using various Tim Holtz Distress Inks and accented details with silver Zing Embossing Powder in Glitter finish.  Did you know that Tim Holtz Idea-ology Grungeboard Basics can be embossed with embossing powders?  I used my Tim Holtz Alterations Bigz Dies in Reindeer Flight to create my shimmering deer in flight.

Oh Deer!

Oh Deer!

I am sensing a trend here.  I didn’t even realize how much I was drawn to reindeer images this year.  I used the same technique on the reindeer die cut as the previous image.  I changed up my embossing folder to feature Tim Holtz Alterations Shadow Press Christmas and used a birch tree stencil found at Hobby Lobby to create my wooded background. (direct link to stencil not available)

All that glitters

All that glitters

This final card reflects my personal style when it comes to holiday decor.  I love the old Shiny Brite ornaments but I also like simple and modern styles.  This picture really doesn’t show off the shimmer of the Zing Embossing Powder, but I like the mixture of old world ornaments from Stampers Anonymous Tim Holtz Christmas Memories stamp set and the embossed image from Darcie’s Embossing Folder appropriately called, Ornaments On The Side.

 

Leave a Reply

