shake it up

shaker birthday card

Like I promised in my last blog post, my very first shaker card.  I just had to try one of these cards after seeing so many wonderful examples on Instagram and other such sites.  At first I was stumped as to what supplies I would use to create such cards.  I did a little investigating on the internet to learn a little more and then I set out to my nearest craft store.  Now I just realized this really wasn’t a smart idea.  I have just introduced yet another section of the store that I can search for additional goodies for card making.  I had to find out what section the acetate was in, (found it after ordering online) and where in the heck would they put sequins? Up until this point I really had only used one kind of foam tape, and low and behold, there are other options out there.

I had a vision for this card when I started and I found that helped tremendously.  When you have a card shape, colors and image picked out it is only a matter of learning a new technique, in this case the creation of the shaker, that you have to really think about.

While out on my hunt for additional supplies I came across this great gadget from EK Tools.  It’s called the Curvy Cutter Double Circle Maker.  With my creative space under construction I wanted a tool that I could use quickly without having to get out my Cricut and this little gem was perfect for the job.  It was what I used to create my circle cutout on my card stock, the border for my shaker window and my acetate window.  It proved to be very useful all on one card.

Photo Courtesy of Create For Less

Photo Courtesy of Create For Less

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As I worked on this card I was thinking of a way to share more information with you all on how to make shaker cards.  I decided to do more of these for Valentine’s Day and will also share some step by step photos when time permits.  With drywall dust flying and our basement looking like a craft store exploded, I certainly feel a little “shaken up” but it is times like this that I have to remember to breathe create relax –mj

products used

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

