spring has sprung

spring fling

Hello Everyone!

I’m a little bit at a loss for words.  It’s been really hard to find the time to blog lately and that is a real bummer.  I think about you all everyday as I sit at my regular 9-5 job and miss being creative.  But Friday and I have finally found our way to each other and I just want to share what I’ve been up to.

Spring is on it’s way and seeing the sun, hearing the birds and enjoying some warmer temps inspired me with my Easter cards.  In the past I have done individual cards, each one unique.  But this time around I decided on replicating the same shape and idea but changing up the colors and making small changes.  I used a “production line” way of assembling and it made it much easier to do multiple cards in a shorter time frame.  I did start by working one card all the way through from start to finish just so that I had my basic ideas down and then I went in and “mass produced” all my pieces.  Below are some pictures of the process as well as the steps.

paper

Cut card stock and soften corners with corner rounder.

1. Cut card stock and soften corners with corner rounder.

2. Stamp Bristol with desired images.

3. Color images with assorted Distress Inks/Markers.

4. Punch holes in corner of Bristol for brads (optional).

stamping

Stamp designs on Bristol

 

 

 

 

5. Add embossed detail to color card stock.

6. Assemble cards.

7. Create custom embellishments and assemble.

8. Put together cards and add embellishments.

ready to color

It was fun to create in this way.  I love to do individual cards, each unique to the person who is receiving it, but that can sometimes take longer.  My work week can often be hectic and by the time the weekend rolls around my mind is mush. So to keep things simple I opted for easier cards.  It was also a nice way to work in my new space.  I found myself standing and sitting and moving around comfortably.  It can take me some time in a new space to get acquainted with my work area and creating a routine helped me to work efficiently without having to remember where I had put everything.  I think this new space is going to work out perfectly.

I had time on Easter to set up a Christmas present from my husband, my desktop studio.  Now I can have photo shoots with my creations and show them in a more professional manner.  Scroll through to see the final results and the products used.  Thank you for allowing me to take the time to breathe create relax. – mj

desktop studio

hello spring

welcome spring

bunny hop

butterfly blue

easter cards

spring wish

hop into spring

products used 

 

 

12 thoughts on “spring has sprung

  1. Shari T. says:

    Hi MJ! #1, I just had to come over and Thank You for being a follower of my little humble blog 🙂 I appreciate your visits and one good deed, deserves another 🙂 I’m a new follower of your wonderful blog!! 🙂 #2–OK, I’m totally going to dive into the posts on your new creative space 🙂 LUUUUCKY!! I LOVE that sliding barn door and need to go see every detail you and your hubbie put into making this wonderful space 🙂 #3–LOVE these darling Easter cards 🙂 I create like you do, one card at a time, for each individual person, but that is very time consuming, but special nonetheless. OK last but not least–#4…LOVE your desktop studio!! I want one of those things! What’s it called? I use a piece of white foam board and pieces of white paper to form my background for my photo shoots…I want one of those pop-up things!! It’s so nice to meet you, MJ and look forward to getting to know you better through your blog & art!! Happy Sunday to you!! XOXO-Shari

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Shari! Thank you so very very much!!!! I love the sliding barn door too. Let me know if you have any questions about it. The desktop studio I found on Amazon. I am away from my creative space right now but I’ll get you the name of the company. If you search Amazon for desktop studio I think it will come up. Mine came with the white cube, three different back drop colors, and 2 lights with bulbs. In fact, one bulb didn’t work and when I contacted the seller they sent a replacement right away. I love the fact that those two lights alone are enough light to shoot with. I also want to say the cost of the entire package was under $100. Maybe between $50-$70. I thought that was really reasonable. I look forward to seeing more of your work and getting to know you through your blog and art as well. Thanks again!!!! -Mj

      Like

    • Patty thank you so much for visiting and replying. I’ve wanted to get a light box for sometime now and it has extra perks for doing pictures of craft items. I look forward to getting to know you through your blog. Again, thanks for the comments. I love hearing from everyone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

